Welcome Amy Kennedy, PT, DPT to the Staff at Advanced Physical Therapy Center

kennedy_amy aptc 6-26-2017 bhphotographicPrior to becoming a physical therapist, Amy Kennedy, PT, DPT spent eighteen years in the marketing field.  A life-altering event sent her down a different career path.  Her husband of eight years passed away from prostate cancer.  It was around this time that she was laid off from work.  “I remember thinking that I wanted to do something different, something more.  I wanted a career that meant giving back and making a difference in someone’s life.  My husband and I both had physical therapy, and it piqued my interest.  I applied for the doctorate program, got in and never looked back.  I don’t regret it for a second,” said Amy about her career path.

Amy completed the doctorate program in physical therapy at the University of Michigan—Flint in 2015.  Her post-graduate focus has been on the use of manual therapy, and she credits the techniques she uses for her patients’ results.  “I’ve had patients with tears in their eyes telling me how much I have helped them.  That means the world to me,” stated Amy.  She is also trained in Functional Movement Screen, which is a screening tool designed to identify compensatory movement patterns that are indicative of increased injury risk and inefficient movement that causes reduced performance.  Ultimately, it helps one to identify areas of which to focus on strengthening.

Several years ago, Amy underwent heart surgery.  Because of this, she feels a special connection to heart patients and the elderly.  She is able to identify and relate to what post-operative and heart condition patients go through.  She knows, first-hand, how important it is to gain mobility and prevent the accumulation of scar tissue.

Amy is originally from Cupertino (Silicon Valley), California and moved to Michigan in 1999.  Now remarried, she and her family live in Fenton.  Amy is a practicing physical therapist out of our Clio clinic.  When she is not treating patients, you can find her at the local, boot camp gym working out or cheering on her two teenagers at their swim meets.  She also loves to travel and hit the beach any chance she gets.

When you ask Amy what she likes about being a physical therapist, she will most likely say, “I like working with all the different types of people.  It is so interesting to hear their stories and get to know them.  I also like to see their reaction when they start to progress and get results.  It gets them more motivated to continue, and it makes me glad I made the career change.  I love what I do now.”

APTC-Clio | 303 S. Mill St. | 810.687.8700 | AKennedy@advpt.com

 

Leave a Reply

